Didsburydad's Blog

From the not so mean streets of M20, blog about being a dad, Didsbury and dealing with parental confusion

Own clothes, spots and November


November is always full-on. After a summer malaise that, depending on the freelance market, lasts 3-5 months, it is November when we are back to full pace. Christmas is around the corner, schools are busy inventing new ways to make you pay for them and… I need to take a pause here before I get back to the list.

Yesterday’s event I, as usual forgot, was ” Own Clothes Day”. Why? We’ve only just got over the trauma of forgetting “wear spots” day, so yesterday’s hassled phone call from Didsbury Mum near the city centre to me in deepest Lancashire that Didsbury Son was the only child in uniform just cranked up the stress. (Didsbury Son has just informed me that next Friday is bring a chocolate bar day; fine now, but I will forget by Tuesday and then have to make up a lame excuse about protecting him from Diabetes to try and justify my poor parenting).

Why? Are they so desperate to entertain the children? I think that should read why are they so desperate to entertain the children?
Many of the educationalists are parents so make it easy for us and engage the children in ways that they care about. All messages about wearing “wacky” clothes, taking in a pound for the children of former bankers, baking a cake for cats or getting the staffroom a new massage chair should come back in a fake tattoo on the child’s hand or forehead. This way I can’t accidentally miss the email that arrives at the same time as my Fantasy League update and Didsbury Son can concentrate on remembering the latest must have accessory for playground bragging rights.

On an educational tip, this is what Zygotsky called the “Zone of Proximal Development”. The theory states that whatever the loudest child in the class brags about most convincingly, all the others will want for Christmas. My argument that once children aren’t sure Santa exists we should end big presents comes from not really understanding Christmas. I am an outsider and Chanucah is a different world. I love the goodwill to mankind and winter brightness aspect. As a football fan I like the people who have religious belief, faith is very underrated in any field. But I have never quite understood the craven sprint to debt the day before everything is half price.

Oh well, November, lovely really and especially mild is year. Rainbows and storms, excited children, Didsbury is at its best as autumn goes into winter. We have trees that shed their leaves impressively and I am hoping to find time for a walk around Fletcher Moss on my Saturday morning mooch with Didsbury son today. It always makes me feel lucky to live so close to somewhere near the city that is so beautiful, and now it has Dimitri’s, it’s handy for souvlaki on the walk home.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

