Didsburydad's Blog

From the not so mean streets of M20, blog about being a dad, Didsbury and dealing with parental confusion

Man vs Mucous vs Chalk Bar & Grill


20140514-193026.jpg
Queues wearing Sky Blue scarves swarmed in Didsbury to see a babysitter happy to get twins down.

Man vs Mucous
“The best things in life are free.” Love, comps and invites to launches are the three cornerstones of life. Really good fried chicken is the fourth should it be needed. With this In mind you can only shine a weak light on the dark thoughts in my head as I drove past the opening of Chalk Bar Grill with the prescription for my pearly princess gripped in my hand.

Not once did I feel cheated to see Didsbury’s finest sipping chilled drinks and chattering at the opening night party. My only thought was with the little angel lying listless in her mother’s arms waiting for a little Calpol Extra to put her back upright.

My invite, with Didsbury Wife as my plus 1 lies untouched; as does the Mojito I have been visualising all day. But none of this crossed my mind as I prayed that the nursery day ending virus would heal quickly; before we have to decide who can sidle out of work to look after her easiest tomorrow.

Parents of boddlers will know that social engagements lessen as people realise what poor company you have become. Babysitters happy to have twin boddlers are rarer than invites to openings in Didsbury so when they align… Luckily none of this mattered in the slightest as I texted the babysitter to stand down whilst queuing at the pharmacy.

I’ll have to buy my own Mojito

20140514-193425.jpg

20140514-193502.jpg
Opening night invite ship has sailed

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Man vs Mucous vs Chalk Bar & Grill

  1. Pingback: Man vs Mucous vs Chalk Bar and Grill – the sacrifices of fatherhood

Leave a Reply

